The Story Orchestra: The Nutcracker: Press the note to hear Tchaikovsky's music (Volume 2) (The Story Orchestra, 2)

$16.9912% OFF
Free shipping
Average: $19.35
(1,935 reviews)


Product Description Follow Clara on a magical Christmas adventure in this musical retelling of The Nutcracker ballet—push the button on each beautiful scene to hear the vivid sound of an orchestra playing from Tchaikovsky’s score.It is Christmas Eve at Clara’s house. Scents of ginger, chocolate, and peppermint waft through the air. Clara’s parents are having a party, and her little brother Fritz is decorating the Christmas tree. Clara’s godfather, a toymaker, arrives with gifts, including a very special one for her—a wooden nutcracker carved in the shape of a little man. After Fritz breaks it, the children are sent to bed.The story follows Clara in her dreams as she battles and defeats a mouse king, then travels with her nutcracker-turned-prince to the Land of Sweets where she watches its enchanting inhabitants perform beautiful dances. As you and your little one journey through the magical scenes, you will press the buttons to hear 10 excerpts from the ballet’s music, including “The Waltz of the Flowers,” “The Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy,” “The Russian Dance,” and the awesome “Finale.”Readers should press firmly on the pages to activate the sound board at the back of the book, encouraging interactive learning and introducing children to this beautiful piece of music.At the back of the book, find a short biography of the composer, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, with details about his composition of The Nutcracker ballet. Next to this, you can replay the musical excerpts and, for each of them, read a discussion of the instruments, rhythms, and musical techniques that make them so powerful. A glossary defines musical terms.The Story Orchestra series brings classical music to life for children through gorgeously illustrated retellings of classic ballet, opera, and program music stories paired with 10-second sound clips of orchestras playing from their musical scores. With The Story Orchestra keyboard sound books, children can play the famous melodies themselves with the sound of a real grand piano. Also available from the Story Orchestra series: The Magic Flute, I Can Play (vol 1), Carnival of the Animals, Swan Lake, The Sleeping Beauty, and Four Seasons in One Day.Manufacturer’s note: please pull the white tab out of the back of the book before use. Sound buttons require a firm push in exact location to work, which may be hard for young children. All sound clips are 10 seconds long.The perfect primer to introduce children to classical music. From School Library Journal Gr 1–4—Clearly meant to introduce the ballet based on Hoffmann's classic story, this inviting adaptation instructs readers to press a musical note on each page in order to hear an enlivening snippet of Tchaikovsky's music. While Clara impatiently awaits the arrival of her toymaker godfather, guests of varying ages and ethnicities, attired in 19th-century styles, are enjoying the festive Christmas party hosted by her parents. The vibrant illustrations are in a polished cartoon style reminiscent of early animated Disney films, with the text attractively set apart from the richly detailed visuals, encircled by colorful shapes, flowers, or wreath-like designs. Clara's fantastical dreams never seem too busy or overcrowded, and are, again, populated with diverse figures. Back matter includes a brief overview of Tchaikovsky and a glossary of musical terms. Buttons for the 10 selections used throughout are together on the final page, along with orchestral information. Readers are encouraged to let the music inspire their own theatrical creativity. VERDICT Any disruption to the perceived tranquility of the library atmosphere due to the audio component of this book will be offset by the information gleaned and the jump-start it provides to the imagination of its readers.—Linda Israelson, Los Angeles Public Library Review 'a clever way to show the way music and narrative combine and Courtney-Tickle’s illustrations are fittingly festive.' ―Achuka'The Nut

Product Stats

This is a great price to buy! There's a 66% probability this price will be higher. Our advice is Buy it now.
Buy on Amazon

Product details





Best deals on Children's Books


The Story Orchestra The Nutcracker Press The Note, is it available on Amazon?

Yes! But at Pricepulse we inform you when is the lowest price to buy the The Story Orchestra The Nutcracker Press The Note

Should I buy the The Story Orchestra The Nutcracker Press The Note now?

This is a great price to buy! There's a 66% probability this price will be higher. Our advice is Buy it now.

What is the current price of The Story Orchestra The Nutcracker Press The Note?

Its current price is $16.99

What was the lowest price for the The Story Orchestra The Nutcracker Press The Note?

The lowest historical price was $12.49