The Girl Who Drank the Moon (Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal)

$8.56High
Free shipping
Average: $6.99
(13,194 reviews)
$8.60$8.70$8.80$8.90

Description

Product Description Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal The New York Times Bestseller An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of 2016 A New York Public Library Best Book of 2016 A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016 An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016 A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016 A School Library Journal Best Book of 2016 Named to KirkusReviews’ Best Books of 2016 2017 Booklist Youth Editors’ Choice Every year, the people of the Protectorate leave a baby as an offering to the witch who lives in the forest. They hope this sacrifice will keep her from terrorizing their town. But the witch in the Forest, Xan, is kind. She shares her home with a wise Swamp Monster and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon. Xan rescues the children and delivers them to welcoming families on the other side of the forest, nourishing the babies with starlight on the journey. One year, Xan accidentally feeds a baby moonlight instead of starlight, filling the ordinary child with extraordinary magic. Xan decides she must raise this girl, whom she calls Luna, as her own. As Luna’s thirteenth birthday approaches, her magic begins to emerge—with dangerous consequences. Meanwhile, a young man from the Protectorate is determined to free his people by killing the witch. Deadly birds with uncertain intentions flock nearby. A volcano, quiet for centuries, rumbles just beneath the earth’s surface. And the woman with the Tiger’s heart is on the prowl . . . Review 2017 Newbery Medal Winner A New York Times Bestseller A New York Public Library Best Book of 2016 A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016 “Impossible to put down . . . The Girl Who Drank the Moon is as exciting and layered as classics like Peter Pan or The Wizard of Oz.” — The New York Times Book Review   “A gorgeously written fantasy about a girl who becomes “enmagicked” after the witch who saves her from death feeds her moonlight.” —People    “[Barnhill’s] next middle grade sensation.” —EW.com   “With compelling, beautiful prose, Kelly Barnhill spins the enchanting tale of a kindly witch who accidentally gives a normal baby magic powers, then decides to raise her as her own.” —EW.com, The Best Middle-Grade Books of 2016   « “Guaranteed to enchant, enthrall, and enmagick . . . Replete with traditional motifs, this nontraditional fairy tale boasts sinister and endearing characters, magical elements, strong storytelling, and unleashed forces.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review   « “Rich with multiple plotlines that culminate in a suspenseful climax, characters of inspiring integrity, a world with elements of both whimsy and treachery, and prose that melds into poetry. A sure bet for anyone who enjoys a truly fantastic story.” — Booklist, starred review   « “An expertly woven and enchanting offering.” — School Library Journal, starred review   « “Barnhill crafts another captivating fantasy, this time in the vein of Into the Woods . . . Barnhill delivers an escalating plot filled with foreshadowing, well-developed characters, and a fully realized setting, all highlighting her lyrical storytelling.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review   « “Barnhill writes with gentle elegance, conveying a deeply emotional and heartrending tale with accessible, fluid prose. Characters are skillfully developed: the heroes are flawed, the villains are humanized, and they are forgiven for sins they may or may have not intended. The swamp monster and dragon provide plenty of moments of humor to leaven the pathos, while the setting is infused with fairy tale elements, both magical and menacing, and given a tragic history. Fans of Barnhill’s The Witch’s Boy and Iron Hearted Violet will find similar intersections of love, loss, and identity here.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, starred review   « “The Girl Who Drank the Moon takes a probing look at social complexity and the high cost of secrets and lies, weaving multiple perspectives, past and present, into one clever

Product Stats

Current price$8.56
Since 25 days
Average price$6.99
Based on 2 years
Lowest price ever$3.85
20 months ago
Highest price ever$14.80
21 months ago
Amazing
Great
Average
High
It's not a good time to buy now, there's a 51% probability this price will decrease. Our advise is to Watch it.
Buy on Amazon

Product details

EAN

9781616207465

ASIN

1616207469

FAQs

The Girl Who Drank The Moon Winner Of The 2017 New, is it available on Amazon?

Yes! But at Pricepulse we inform you when is the lowest price to buy the The Girl Who Drank The Moon Winner Of The 2017 New

Should I buy the The Girl Who Drank The Moon Winner Of The 2017 New now?

It's not a good time to buy now, there's a 51% probability this price will decrease. Our advise is to Watch it.

What is the current price of The Girl Who Drank The Moon Winner Of The 2017 New?

Its current price is $8.56

What was the lowest price for the The Girl Who Drank The Moon Winner Of The 2017 New?

The lowest historical price was $3.85