Over and Under the Pond: (Environment and Ecology Books for Kids, Nature Books, Children's Oceanography Books, Animal Books for Kids)

$12.79Average
Free shipping
Average: $13.16
(1,104 reviews)

Description

Product Description A secret underwater world brought to life: This gorgeous companion to the acclaimed Over and Under the Snow and Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt is an excellent addition to any emerging reader's collection. In Over and Under the Pond, readers will discover the plants and animals that make up the rich, interconnected ecosystem of a mountain pond. Over the pond, the water is a mirror, reflecting the sky. But under the water is a hidden world of creatures—minnows darting, beavers diving, and tadpoles growing. These secrets and many others are waiting to be discovered over and under the pond in this sweet children’s book from Kate Messner and Christopher Silas Neal, the latest in their beloved series that offers kids a peek into hidden ecosystems. ENTERTAINING AND EDUCATIONAL: Stunning illustrations paired with an easy-to-follow storyline make this a great read for any early elementary school student, while a glossary of animals that live in, near, and around the mountain pond enriches the reading experience. INSPIRES A LOVE A NATURE: Offering a look inside a beautiful underwater ecosystem, this gorgeously illustrated book encourages children to explore the world around them and appreciate the natural wonders they discover. A FIVE-STAR FAVORITE OF READERS & REVIEWERS: "Playful and lovely to read aloud. Even older budding naturalists will find something to enjoy here."—School Library Journal; "A contemplative journey through an ecosystem."—USA Today Perfect for: A great read-aloud book for home or school Parents looking for enchanting bedtime reads or nature books for kids Fans of books like A Different Pond, An Egg Is Quiet, Because of an Acorn, and Over and Under the Rainforest and others in the Over and Under series Any kid who loves picture books about science, nature, or animals From School Library Journal K-Gr 4—Messner and Neal have followed up on their proven formula (Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt; Over and Under the Snow), this time focusing on the ecosystem of an Adirondack pond at twilight. While a woman and boy in a canoe are seen at various points admiring the pond, the wildlife and plants are the real characters of this story, beautifully illustrated in mixed media. Neal captures minute details that will have readers easily recognizing specific species. With descriptive verbs and the use of onomatopoeia, Messner's prose is both playful and lovely to read aloud, and the slow close of the day and early night depicted make this an ideal bedtime book. An author's note, an "About the Animals" section, and a list of further reading bump up the age of potential readers, as even older budding naturalists will find something to enjoy here. VERDICT Librarians can confidently purchase this title for elementary schoolers.—Courtney Lewis, St. Catherine's School, Richmond, VA Review “Conveys the sights and sounds and motions of a peaceful day spent enjoying and observing nature.”-The Horn Book Magazine Time Magazine Best Books of the Year Read On Wisconsin! State Reading List 2018-2019 "A contemplative journey through an ecosystem."--USA Today «“A magical artistic and informational world that readers will delight in visiting again and again.”-Kirkus Reviews, starred review “Dazzling.”-Publishers Weekly, starred review “Playful and lovely to read aloud… even older budding naturalists will find something to enjoy here.”-School Library Journal About the Author Christopher Silas Neal is an award-winning illustrator. He is a regular contributor to the New York Times and shows his art at various galleries nationwide. He currently lives and works in Brooklyn and teaches at Pratt Institute. Kate Messner is the award-winning author of more than a dozen other books for young readers, including Over and Under the Snow, Up in the Garden and Down in the DirtOver and Under the Snow, Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt, and How to Read a Story. When she's not writing, she loves spending time

Features

  • CHRONICLE

Product Stats

Amazing
Great
Average
High
It's unlikely to find significant changes in price, we expect this product to remain within its Average price. Our advice is Buy now.
Buy on Amazon

Product details

EAN

9781452145426

ASIN

1452145423

Related products

FAQs

Over And Under The Pond Environment And Ecology Bo, is it available on Amazon?

Yes! But at Pricepulse we inform you when is the lowest price to buy the Over And Under The Pond Environment And Ecology Bo

Should I buy the Over And Under The Pond Environment And Ecology Bo now?

It's unlikely to find significant changes in price, we expect this product to remain within its Average price. Our advice is Buy now.

What is the current price of Over And Under The Pond Environment And Ecology Bo?

Its current price is $12.79

What was the lowest price for the Over And Under The Pond Environment And Ecology Bo?

The lowest historical price was $9.71